Novel Psychoactive Substances Committee


The purpose of the Novel Psychoactive Substances Committee is to promote awareness and provide means of information exchange for SOFT membership, toxicologists, medical examiners and coroners, professionals in healthcare, law enforcement, government agencies and others in related fields with matters concerning emerging synthetic drugs or toxins, commonly knowns as “Designer Drugs” or “Novel Psychoactive Substances (NPS)”. Information may include, but is not limited to, prevalence, toxicology, pharmacology, analysis, and challenges of emerging drugs.

NPS Literature

Current Members

  • Kayla Ellefsen, Chair
  • Alex Krotulski, Vice Chair
  • Dani Mata
  • Sandrine Merette
  • Celia Modell
  • Donna Papsun
  • Amy Patton
  • Elisa Shoff
  • Szabolcs Sofalvi
  • Michael Truver
  • Svante Vikingsson, TIAFT Liaison
  • Lana Goodson, Seized Drug Liaison